Joy – My Review

Joy_Poster_1sheet-copy-600x889

 

I guess I have some conflicting feelings about the underlying story, but the movie is well-worth seeing. I was glad I did.

It is a highly fictionalized portrayal of an American housewife/inventor, who decided to risk everything in order to go into business for herself.

Lawrence is always so good and watchable. The story has emotional resonance and a pretty strong ending. It was also very inventive, a David O. Russell joint. His running series of collaborations with Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper are all fun indulgences from left field. Silver Linings Playbook is my favorite because it had so much fun and play.

 

NEGgjZVFnYbmKK_1_a.jpg

 

Joy is a bit short on the joy, and it focuses on struggle instead. The staging is big and full of artifice. A beautiful, smart American mother breaks out and makes good. But how good?

The snake pit is infested. Watch out, Jen.

I never succeeded in patenting anything because the costs for a patent search were simply prohibitive, but I did have plenty of ideas myself. Still do. There are real barriers to entry in our system, particularly for mad inventors toiling away in their basements untethered to any corporation. The odds are stacked against.

 

joy-jennifer-lawrence-mop

 

Anyway, you’re probably going to like Joy.

 

 

 


My Posts | Reblogs |  Films  Transfixion
Hell of a Deal  |  Love Matters

FacebookTwitterWordpressTumblr

Leave a Reply

