Swiss Army Man – My Review

Swiss-Army-Man-Vinyl-Header_1050_591_81_s_c1.jpg

 

For masochists only, I didn’t watch the full film.

Had I known it was primarily about a farting corpse and only two characters, I wouldn’t have rented it. Chalk it up to being fooled by the “indie” film websites again.

Even the filmmakers say that this is a “film about a farting corpse.” It’s stuffed with gross-out humor and a boring relationship between two dudes, one dead.

The film has flashbacks inserted, but I couldn’t bring myself to care. One reason was that the flashbacks themselves (at the beginning anyway) were inconsequential, pointless: cuttable. The other reason was that I never did buy into the absurd premise and was left rolling my eyes alone up in the bleachers.

hero_Swiss-Army-Man-2016-2.jpg

The Making Of feature was more interesting than the actual film. It showed how easily pleased the people behind it were, and how a juvenile gag can be stretched out for two-hours, a la SNL, and the mindless groupthink which cheers that sort of thing on.

No trailer.

 


 

joegiambrone.us

 

My Posts | Reblogs |  Films  Transfixion
Hell of a Deal  |  Love Matters

FacebookTwitterWordpressTumblr

One thought on “Swiss Army Man – My Review

Leave a Reply

